It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Teaching Middle Grades English Language Arts: Web Portals, Databases, & Teaching Resources
NC LIVE provides online access to a large and diverse collection of resources aimed at serving educational, economic, and information needs. It includes a number of databases, full text content, and indexing of more than 50,000 newspapers, journals, magazines, encyclopedias, e-books, e-audio, and streaming video titles.
Gale Literary Sources provides combined access to Dictionary of Literary Biography, Literature Criticism Online and to Something About the Author Online.
Artemis Literary Sources provides information on authors and their works in all genres and disciplines. The following series are included in this database:
Children's Literature Review Classical and Medieval Literature Criticism Contemporary Literary Criticism Drama Criticism Literature Criticism from 1400 to 1800 Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism Poetry Criticism Shakespearean Criticism Short Story Criticism Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism Coverage: 1400's-present
LRC is built upon Gale's three author resources: Contemporary Authors, offering biographical coverage of more than 120,000 modern writers; Contemporary Literary Criticism, featuring entries on all authors appearing in CLC since Vol. 95 of the print series and select profiles of authors prior to Vol. 95; and Dictionary of Literary Biography, containing more than 10,000 biocritical essays on authors and their works.
Provides biographical, bibliographical, and critical content on literary figures from all time periods writing in fiction, nonfiction, poetry, drama, history, journalism, and more.
Contains full text for 31,098 plot summaries, synopses and work overviews, nearly 100,000 articles/essays of literary criticism, nearly 140,000 author biographies (including 20,000 in-depth bios), more than 430 literary journals, more than 605,000 book reviews, more than 60,000 classic and contemporary poems, more than 15,000 classic and contemporary short stories, more than 5,200 author interviews, and more than 7,100 classic texts.
Literary Reference Center provides users with information from reference works, books, literary journals as well as original content from EBSCO Publishing, on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and timeframes.
ILLiad - Interlibrary Loan
Use for requesting journal articles and books not available thru our library system.
Education and Statistics Databases
Databases contain journals and journal articles, scholarly research studies, white papers, book chapters, conference proceedings, statistical information, videos, and other information useful for research and teaching.
When searching databases, you can be more specific if you use keywords and subject headings to locate the information you need. Here are some of the databases used for research on Middle Grades education.
Provides access to numerous scholarly, peer-reviewed materials
Education Source provides full text access for more than 1,800 journals, as well as indexing and abstracts for thousands more. Also including are full text for 550 books and monographs, and full text for numerous education-related conference papers. Education Source is an upgrade from Education Research Complete.
Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing. Education Source also covers areas of curriculum instruction as well as administration, policy, funding, and related social issues.
Index of over 260 titles from the most popular teacher and administrator trade journals, periodicals, and books, providing information of key education topics.
Index of over 260 titles from the most popular teacher and administrator trade journals, periodicals, and books.
Coverage on key education topics such as Assessment, Continuing Education, Current Pedagogical Research, Curriculum Development, Instructional Media, Language Arts, Literacy Standards, Science & Mathematics, and more for K-12 Teachers & Librarians.
PsycINFO, from the American Psychological Association (APA), contains over 3 million citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles (over 2,500 journals), book chapters, books, and dissertations.
Covers psychology and related disciplines,with 97 percent of the material peer-reviewed. The database also includes information about the psychological aspects of related fields such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, law and others. Coverage: 1887-present
The primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education in the U.S. and other nations. Provides educational data covering assessment, early childhood, elementary/secondary, international, library, and postsecondary education.
NCES issues numerous publications and datasets each year. These include: early releases, issue briefs, statistical reports, directories, and handbooks of standard terminology. Many publications report the findings of specific surveys, but at least three--Digest of Education Statistics, Projections of Education Statistics, and The Condition of Education--cover the field of education statistics from a broad perspective.
The Faber Poetry Library contains 140 volumes by 50 poets.
A collection of some of the most influential poets of the twentieth century. The Faber list spans the seventy-year history of this major publishing house, and includes the poetry of James Joyce, Siegfried Sassoon, T.S. Eliot, Ted Hughes, Sylvia Plath, Seamus Heaney, and others.
Drawn from nearly 4,500 printed sources, more than 1,250 poets are represented. The bibliographic source for English Poetry is the New Cambridge Bibliography of English Literature (Cambridge University Press, 1969-72).
English Poetry contains over 165,000 poems essentially comprising the complete English poetic canon from 600-1900.
A collection of more than 600 volumes of poetry by 283 poets from 1900 to the present day, including W.B. Yeats, Rudyard Kipling, Thomas Hardy, Wilfred Owen, Thom Gunn, Fleur Adcock, Paul Muldoon, Tony Harrison, Benjamin Zephaniah and Carol Ann Duffy.
From modernist experiment to post-modern playfulness, from Georgian convention to free-verse confession, and from Edwardian poetry of empire to post-imperial diversity, the collection embraces vital contrasts and continuities. The extraordinary diversity of the century's early decades are given full representation: Edwardian and Georgian writers such Robert Bridges, A.E. Housman, Thomas Hardy, Rudyard Kipling, Charlotte Mew and John Masefield can be searched alongside the revolutionary modernist writings of W.B. Yeats, T.S. Eliot, Ford Madox Ford, John Rodker, D.H. Lawrence, Hugh MacDiarmid and Basil Bunting and the war poetry of Siegfried Sassoon, Wilfred Owen, Isaac Rosenberg, David Jones, Robert Graves and Laurence Binyon.
A collection of modern and contemporary African American poetry, featuring almost 9,000 poems by 62 of the most important African American poets of the last century, including Langston Hughes, Jean Toomer, Imamu Amiri Baraka, Audre Lorde and Rita Dove.
Coverage begins with the key writers of the early decades (James Weldon Johnson, Georgia Douglas Camp Johnson, Claude McKay), continues with major figures of the Harlem Renaissance (Langston Hughes, Jean Toomer, Arna Bontemps and Sterling Brown) and the Black Arts movement of the 1960s (Imamu Amiri Baraka, Etheridge Knight, Audre Lorde, Sonia Sanchez), and concludes with a considerable body of writing of the 1980s and 1990s, including major figures such as Ai, Rita Dove and Yusef Komunyakaa alongside young writers who have gained recognition through national poetry awards or inclusion within leading print anthologies.
Provides access to 50,000 poems drawn from 750 volumes by over 300 poets, including biographical information on each poet.
Major movements of the century are represented, including the Black Mountain school of Charles Olson and Robert Duncan, the Deep Image poetry of Robert Bly and James Wright, underground literature by the Beat poets, the influential feminist works of Adrienne Rich, and the works by the confessional poets. Many contemporary writers of the 1980s and 1990s are also included, such as Sharon Olds, Louise Glück, Joy Harjo and Thomas Lynch.
This collection provides over 41,000 high quality streaming video on a wide-variety of topics.
Subject covered include business & economics, health & medicine, humanities & social sciences, and science & mathematics, as well as travel and fitness programming, home and how-to videos, and popular music performances. The videos include Oscar, Emmy and Peabody award winning documentaries plus interviews, instructional and vocational training videos, historical speeches and newsreels.
Features include: Captioning and cross-searchable interactive transcripts on all titles; iPad, PC, Mac, and Android friendly; Public performance rights; Citations in MLA, CMS, and APA formats; ability to embed persistent and authenticated video clips into course management systems such as Blackboard and Moodle; an Create and share personalized playlists using segments from multiple videos.