Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

JHP 3151: Comparative Genocide in the Twentieth Century: Source Criticism Example -- Holocaust Studies

Claude Lanzmann's Shoah

Claude Lanzmann was a French filmmaker whose most renown work Shoah showcases 9 hours and 30 minutes of first person testimonies from survivors, witnesses, and perpetrators of the Holocaust. The film took 11 years to produce and over 350 hours of raw footage was recorded over the span of this time. This raw footage along with transcripts has been made available by the United States Holocaust Memorial Museum (see the second column).

This page contains the following:

  • A clip of Claude Lanzmann discussing why he did not use archives for him film
  • A link to the USHMM's archive of material from the making of Shoah
  • A clip of his interview with historian Raul Hilberg where he analyzes a train schedule created during the Holocaust
  • An Archive of the Catastrophe by Jennifer Cazenave where she analyzes the outtakes from Shoah to reexamine the film
  • A talk given in Fall of 2020 by Dr. Erin McGlothlin which also compares the outtake footage and transcripts available in the USHMM's Shoah archives to the film

Claude Lanzmann on Shoah

The lack of historical footage in Shoah has been noted in many reviews of the film. The following interview clip features Claude Lanzmann discussing why he did not use archives.

Claude Lanzmann Shoah Collection

Shoah: Interview with Raul Hilberg

The following is a clip of Claude Lanzmann interviewing Raul Hilberg, an American Holocaust historian, in which Hilberg analyzes a train schedule.

Titles on Analyzing Textual Sources

An Archive of the Catastrophe

Claude Lanzmann's Shoah and Its Outtakes: The Ethics of Perpetrator Representation

Professor Erin McGlothlin offered new insights into Lanzmann’s monumental film "Shoah" (1985) through her examination of part of the hundreds of hours of outtakes to the film restored and digitized by the United States Holocaust Memorial Museum and Yad Vashem.