Humanities Librarian
Amauri SerranoBelk Library, Room 226
828.262.7409
serranoar@appstate.edu
Send Email
Subjects:
Architecture, Art, Crafts, English, History, Interior Design, LGBT Studies
RAP Sessions
RAP (Research Advisory Program
The Research Advisory Program (RAP) provides students the opportunity to meet with a librarian for in-depth reference assistance to identify appropriate sources for a research topic.
Annotated Bibliographies
Contents of this Guide
|
|
BooksFinding books for starting your research ArticlesLibrary databases and resources Primary DocumentsPrimary documents in databases & Citation GuidelinesChicago Citation Style |
Reference Sources
Electronic Reference:
- Biography in Context- Provides full-text biographies of individuals.
- Credo Reference- Hundreds of reference books (encyclopedias, dictionaries, biographies, quotations) from over 70 academic publishers.
- Oxford Digital Reference Shelf: From 1750 to the present, including social, economic, cultural and politica topics, maritime history, Byzantium, the Renaissance, and Economic history spanning all periods of human history.
- Sage Reference Offers access to 72 encyclopedias online in a variety of subjects.
Print Reference:
American Historical Association's guide to historical literature
ASU Reference | Z6201 .A55 1995
The third edition of this classic work. It lists books on many various topics in its two volumes. Organized by topic and area.
Atlas of the classical world
ASU Reference Atlases | DE29 .H463
Atlases organize information geographically, and this atlas of the classic world is an excellent example.
Dictionary of National Biography (60 vols.)
ASU Reference | DA28 .O95 2004
Authoritative biographies of 50,000 people who shaped the history of Britain from the earliest times to the present.
Encyclopedia of the Renaissance
ASU Reference CB361 .E52 1999
Greenwood Encyclopedia of Daily Life
ASU Reference | GT31 .G74 2004
A six volume work that approaches daily living thematically and chronologically and has worldwide coverage. Features include primary documents, illustrations, maps, concept maps, and chronologies.
See online version: Greenwood Digital Collection Online
Click on the letter "D" to get to the Daily Life Collection.
International Historical Statistics: Africa, Asia & Oceania, 1750-2000
ASU Reference | HA 4675.M552 2003
Arranged geographically and provides historical statistics for some of the following categories: population, labour force, agriculture, industry and education.
International Historical Statistics: Europe, 1750-1993
ASU Reference | HA1107.M5 1998
Arranged geographically and provides historical statistics for some of the following categories: population, labour force, agriculture, industry and education.
Navigating world history : historians create a global past / Patrick Manning
ASU Main Stacks | D21.3 .M285 2003
List of reference sources organized by LC Classification with an index to authors and titles.
Princeton Encyclopedia of the World Economy
ASU Main Stacks HF1373 .P75 2009
Renaissance and Reformation
ASU Reference | CB359 .R455 2007
Six volume, eclectic, well-researched set organized by theme, such as "Architecture, Painting, and Sculpture," "Daily Life," "Politics and Economics," or "Wars and Battles."
Research Librarian |
Library Reference Chat
Library Instruction Survey
Were your library instruction sessions helpful for your research?
Please give us your comments and suggestions.
Library Instruction Feedback Survey







Loading...
