This is the "Overview" page of the "United States History" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

United States History   Tags: american_history, us_history  

A research guide to scholarly resources in American history.
Last Updated: Sep 26, 2013 URL: http://guides.library.appstate.edu/ushistory Print Guide RSS Updates

Overview Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

What's in this guide

Books

Books for starting your research

Articles

Library databases and resources for U.S. History

Primary Sources

Original documents from the period in history

Citation Guideline

Chicago Citation Style

 

Library Reference Chat

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
 

Reference Sources

Online Encyclopedias:

Credo Reference
Hundreds of Encyclopedias. Search for an overview of your topic.

Encyclopedias in ASU Reference:

American Heritage Encyclopedia of American History
ASU REFERENCE E174.A535 1998
Provides comprehensive coverage of the people and events of America's past.

American National Biography
ASU REFERENCE CT213.A68
Successor to the Dictionary of American Biography, this 24 volume set "has substantially broadened the criteria for the inclusion of subjects." A descriptive bibliography is appended to each article and may include primary sources.

Encyclopedia of American Cultural & Intellectual History
ASU REFERENCE E169.1.E624 2001
Volume one covers early America through 1940. Volume two covers 1940-2000 and volume three focuses on economic order, social order, the pursuit of knowledge, the arts, and methods and concepts.

Encyclopedia of American History
ASU REFERENCE E174 E53 2003
11-volume set of American history.

Encyclopedia of American Social History
ASU MAIN STACKS HN57.E58 1993
This three-volume set includes essays on the history of social change in the United States. There is a bibliography at the end of each essay.

The Greenwood Encyclopedia of American Regional Cultures
ASU REFERENCE E161 .G74 2004

 

Research Librarian

Profile Image
Betsy Williams
Contact Info
Learning & Research Services
Belk Library, Room 308
Send Email

Library Instruction Survey

Were your library instruction sessions helpful for your research? 

Please give us your comments and suggestions.

Library Instruction Feedback Survey

      

    Belk Library and Information Commons

    218 College Street • PO Box 32026 • Boone, NC 28608

    Phone: 828.262.2186

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip