Admin Sign In 

Summer Reading Program - Library Resources 

Since 1997, incoming freshmen at ASU have been asked to read a book as part of their orientation to Appalachian. By participating in the Summer Reading Program, students establish a common experience with other new students.
Last update: Nov 19th, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.appstate.edu/summerreading  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Home            Print Page
  
 

2009 Summer Reading Book

"Three Cups of Tea" by Greg Mortenson and David Oliver Relin

A book about one man’s determination to change the lives of young school-age children by building schools in remote Afghanistan and Pakistan has been selected for the 2009 Summer Reading Program at Appalachian State University.

“This book illustrates the power of one individual to change the lives of many,” said Chancellor Kenneth E. Peacock in announcing the selection. “This book will surely inspire all who read it.”

The book will be read by all incoming freshmen at Appalachian as part of the university’s First Year Seminar Program. Mortenson will speak to members of the campus community and others during Convocation Sept. 10 in the Holmes Center.

Selected Databases for Further Research

Access is restricted to ASU students, faculty, and staff.

  • Academic OneFile  
    Contains more than 11,000 academic journals, the majority in full text and peer-reviewed, from a wide-array of disciplines.
  • Academic Search Premier  
    Covers a wide array of academic disciplines with full text for over 4,600 magazines and journals, and citations with abstracts for 5,000 more titles.
  • CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online)  
    CIAO publishes a wide range of scholarship that includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences, books, journals and policy briefs.
  • International Political Science Abstracts  
    IPSA contains over 210,000 records from nearly 900 journals published from 1989 to the present.
  • PAIS International  
    Covers public affairs topics, including economic, social, and political issues from than 3,000 sources including articles, books, conference proceedings, government documents, book chapters, and statistical directories.
  • Women's Studies International  
    WSI covers women's studies, women's issues, and gender-focused scholarship from throughout the world.
  • World Development Indicators  
    WDI includes more than 900 indicators in over 80 tables organized in 6 sections: World View, People, Environment, Economy, States and Markets, and Global Links.
 

Librarian Contact

Profile ImageJohn Boyd
Contact Info:
Belk Library, Room 136
828-262-2827
boydjd@appstate.edu
Send Email

 

More Help...

CHAT with an Appalachian reference librarian:

 

Belk Library and Information Commons

218 College Street • PO Box 32026 • Boone, NC 28608

Phone: 828.262.2186

Description

  Loading content... please wait