Skip to main content

Politics Through Popular Culture: Overview

Other Voices, Other Views: Cultural Conflict and Political Response

Dubin, Steven C. Displays of Power: Controversy in the American Museum from the Enola Gay to Sensation. 1999.
Fascinating stories of museums at the center of cultural and political debate, including the 1997 Great Russian-American Jewelry Truck Stalemate at the Corcoran Museum and the Enola Gay exhibit at the National Air and Space Museum in 1994.

Luke, Timothy. Museum Politics: Power Plays at the Exhibition. AM151 L85 2002.

Article Databases

Try the indexes and databases on these library guides to find articles about politics and popular culture topics.

Databases for Political Science.

Databases for Communication.

Databases for Literature.

General Databases.

Google Scholar.

Looking at Politics Through Popular Culture

This guide is intended to lead you to resources that use popular culture topics (sports, tv and movies, games, etc., to describe and analyze politics and the political scene. It is a work in progress, so check back often to see what's new.

General Overviews

Fojas, Camilla. Islands of Empire: Pop Culture & U.S. Power. P94.65 U6 F65 2014.

Glover, Robert W., and Daniel Tagliarina, eds. Teaching Politics Beyond the Book: Films, Texts, and New Media in the Classroom. JA86 T42 2013.

Murray, Lead A., ed. Politics and Popular Culture. JA75.7 P6635 2010.

Street, John. Politics and Popular Culture. JA75.7 S77 1997.

Reference Sources

Reference Universe. First stop shopping. This database allows you to search for articles on all topics in most of the subject encyclopedias in the Library collection.

Cogan, Brian, and Tony Kelso. Encyclopedia of Politics, the Media, and Popular Culture. Also available in print, P95.82 U6 C62 2009.

Greenwood Encyclopedia of World Popular Culture. 6 vols. Reference  HM621 G74 2007.

Princeton Encyclopedia of American Political History. 2010.

St. James Encyclopedia of Popular Culture. 5 vols. Reference E169.1 S764 2000.

Trials of the Century: An Encyclopedia of Popular Culture and the Law. 2011.

 

Your Library Guide Author

Suzanne Wise's picture
Suzanne Wise
Contact:
Belk Library and Information Commons
Appalachian State University
Boone, NC 28608-2026
tel: 828-262-2798

Curator of the Stock Car Racing Collection; Bibliographer for the departments of Communication, Computer Science, and Sustainable Technology and the Built Environment