This is the "Library Resources" page of the "Languages, Learning and Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Languages, Learning and Resources  

For those learning a new language or needing help with translation and grammar. Also lists resources for media, film, music, and literature in all languages.
Last Updated: Apr 2, 2014 URL: http://guides.library.appstate.edu/languageresources Print Guide RSS Updates

Library Resources Print Page
  Search: 
 

Research Tools

How To Cite Sources
Explains how to cite print and online sources, including database and internet sources, using MLA, APA, and Chicago Manual of Style.

How To Guides and Tutorials
For a list of tools to help you with your research.

EndNote
EndNote is a software program that facilitates the maintenance and storage of bibliographic citations, web resources and images; EndNote also makes it easy to share your citations with colleagues and students. Requires a separate software download and installation.

ILLiad-Interlibrary Loan
An internet accessible database providing forms for requesting books, journals, and other items not in the collections of Appalachian State University Libraries and not available through ABC Express. Click here for ILLiad registration instructions.

 

Library News

Welcome!

Here you will find a collection of resources that may prove useful for learning foreign languages or finding foreign language materials. If you are specifically doing research on non-English language literature or are interested in the teaching of foreign languages, please see the library research guide, "Foreign Languages and Literatures, Teaching and Research."

Please let me know if you have suggestions for additional content for this guide or if I can help you with your research needs. My contact information is to the right. Look forward to meeting you!

MANGO LANGUAGES!!

Mango Languages is a new online language learning resource available to all ASU students, faculty, and staff. This program offers 36+ languages including French, Spanish, Arabic, Portuguese, Urdu, Farsi, and more. Mango also offers English as a Second Language to those who do not yet speak English but want to.

The Mango interface is very easy to navigate and is presented in a way that you can go forwards and backwards quite effortlessly. Audio and visual effects are used to ease you into the world of another language and culture. It is available through the library's catalog (title search under Mango Languages) or by following the link off the Library Databases and E-Journals site.

OVERDRIVE!!

OverDrive is a new program that allows ASU students, faculty, and staff to check out books by downloading eBooks and audiobooks onto portable devices such as iPhones, iPads, kindles and computers.  

There are many eBooks and audiobooks for foreign language study available on OverDrive. Users are allowed to check out three books at a time and can keep them for three weeks. There in books for many languages, including Spanish, French, German, Chinese, Arabic, Greek, Portugese, Italian, Thai, Japanese, Russian, Indonesian, and Farsi. Come visit the Overdrive Page to learn more! Once at the website, scroll down and click the "Learn a Language" icon.

 

E-Books

Appalachian State University (through NC LIVE) provides access to foreign language resource eBooks-- dictionaries, grammars, and phrasebooks in a wide variety of languages (including all languages in ASU curriculum plus others-- Urdu, Hindi, Javanese, and Panjabi)

To locate items in the online catalog, keyword search by language and one of the following terms:

Ex. french language and self-instruction

french language and phrase books

french language and grammar

Limit the results by ebook. Voila!

Finding Books

Library Catalog
To locate books, journal titles (after you have used an index to identify specific articles), and other materials in the ASU Libraries and the Western North Carolina Library Network (WNCLN).

Try a keyword search first. Your strategy will either be to use a specific word, phrase or combine words that represents your broad topic. Example:

Teaching Spanish elementary
Rimbaud literary criticism
language acquisition adult

Try a subject search using Library of Congress Subject Headings, either from highly relevant books that your keyword search turned up, or from fairly broad headings that you find by browsing the Catalog by Subject. Examples:

Spanish language Study and teaching (Elementary)
Rimbaud, Arthur 1854-1891 History and criticism
Second language acquisition

WorldCat
WorldCat is a catalog of over 35 million books, serials, audiovisual media, maps, archives/manuscripts, scores, and computer files from 17,000 libraries around the world. Electronic interlibrary loan requesting is available for qualified patrons. WorldCat is not an index to journal articles.

 

      

    Librarian Contact

    Profile Image
    Beth Cramer
    Contact Info
    Belk Library and Information Commons
    (828) 262-4967
    Send Email
     

    Library Chat - Thin

    JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.

    Belk Library and Information Commons

    218 College Street • PO Box 32026 • Boone, NC 28608

    Phone: 828.262.2186

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip