Skip to main content
Banner Image

ICPSR - Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research: Overview

Established in 1962, ICPSR maintains and provides access to a vast archive of social science data for research and instruction.



Quick Links

Undergraduate Internship Program

ICPSR's summer internship program provides students with thorough grounding in the tools and best practices of data science and digital assets management. Interns gain experience with the major statistical analysis programs, and are involved in the work of preparing data for archiving and dissemination.

ICPSR Student Internship Program




Appalachian State University is one of over 700 member institutions of ICPSR, and as a student, faculty or staff member at Appalachian State University, you are authorized to access ICPSR data.

Established in 1962, the Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) is an active partner in social science research and instruction throughout the world. ICPSR's unique combination of data resources, user support, and training in quantitative methods make it a vital resource for fostering inquiry and furthering the social sciences. ICPSR maintains and provides access to a vast archive of social science data for research and instruction.

What kind of data is available? ICPSR offers more than 500,000 digital files containing social science research data. Disciplines represented include political science, sociology, demography, economics, history, gerontology, criminal justice, public health, foreign policy, terrorism, health and medical care, early education, education, racial and ethnic minorities, psychology, law, substance abuse and mental health, and more.

Upcoming ICPSR Webinar

Introduction to the Archive of Data on Disability to Enable Policy and research (ADDEP)

Join us for a webinar on Nov 10, 2016 at 1:00 PM EST.

Register now!

Archive manager Alison Stroud and staff provide an introduction to the Archive of Data on Disability to Enable Policy and research (ADDEP) at ICPSR. They describe how ADDEP will successfully facilitate disability and rehabilitation research will also be provided. Also, they highlight ADDEP's new website and tools as well as additional tools and resources available at ICPSR. 

ADDEP is supported by grant P2CHD065702 awarded to the CLDR by the NIH - National Institute of Child Health and Human Development, through the National Center for Medical Rehabilitation Research, the National Institute for Neurological Disorders and Stroke, and the National Institute of Biomedical Imaging and Bioengineering. 

This webinar is free and open to the public. Please share this invitation broadly.

After registering, you will receive a confirmation email containing information about joining the webinar.

View System Requirements

ICPSR Research Paper Competition for Undergraduates and Master's Students

ICPSR offers yearly research paper competitions for undergraduates and for master's students from member institutions.

Competition Information

Summer Program

Summer Program in Quantitative Methods of Social Research

The main component of the Summer Program is held on the campus of the University of Michigan, in Ann Arbor. Lectures and workshops on a wide variety of topics in research design, quantitative reasoning, statistical methods, and data processing are presented in two four-week sessions.

New Data in ICPSR