PubMed provides access to bibliographic information from more than 5,200 journals in the life sciences with a concentration on biomedicine.
PubMed is a service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine and the National Institutes of Health. It provides access to over 14 million citations and abstracts. The fields include medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and preclinical sciences.
Provides indexing to nearly 1,200 nursing, allied health, biomedical, and consumer health journals, as well as publications of the American Nurses Association and the National League for Nursing. It includes healthcare books, nursing dissertations, standards of professional practice, nurse practice acts, and educational software. Abstracts are included for over 250 journals.
PsycINFO, from the American Psychological Association (APA), contains over 3 million citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles (over 2,500 journals), book chapters, books, and dissertations.
Covers psychology and related disciplines,with 97 percent of the material peer-reviewed. The database also includes information about the psychological aspects of related fields such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, law and others. Coverage: 1887-present
Via ISI Web of Knowledge...MEDLINE contains over 12 million records and indexes 3,500+ journals published internationally.
The U.S. National Library of Medicine database covers journal articles in all areas of the life sciences, with particular emphasis on biomedicine. Coverage also includes nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, pharmacy, allied health, and pre-clinical sciences. Also covers life sciences that are vital to biomedical practitioners, researchers, and educators, including some aspects of biology, environmental science, marine biology, plant and animal science as well as biophysics and chemistry.
Cochrane Collection Plus is a collection of six health databases published by the Cochrane Collaboration to support Evidence Based Practice. It includes systematic reviews of the effects of healthcare interventions and a comprehensive index of trials.
Cochrane Collection Plus combines the NHS Economic Evaluation Database (NHS EED) and Health Technology Assessments (HTA) with the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR), Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE), Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials and Cochrane Methodology Register.
Cochrane Collection Plus is a source of health care data for both providers, patients and those responsible for researching, teaching, funding and administrating at all levels of the medical profession.
The US federal agency AHRQ has discontinued this resource, the ECRI Institute has picked it up. It looks like it requires regsitration, but it should be worth it.
NGC is a comprehensive and searchable database of evidence-based clinical practice guidelines and related documents produced by the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality. NGC provides guideline summaries and links to some full-text guidelines and ordering information for print copies.
Journal of American College Health
JAMA Journal of the American Medical Association
The Lancet
BMJ British Medical Journal
American Journal of Public Health