This is the "Overview" page of the "Learning about the Health Professions" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Learning about the Health Professions   Tags: crowe, first year seminar, health, uco 1200, wiswell  

also for UCO 1200 The Changing Face of Medicine
Last Updated: Jun 6, 2014 URL: http://guides.library.appstate.edu/health-professions Print Guide RSS Updates

Overview Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

What's in this Guide

Articles and Databases  Use databases to find articles in the health sciences.

Books and eBooks  Use catalogs to find books and ebooks.

Citing Sources  Cite your sources so that your readers can learn more.  Here are some guides on styles.

Example -- Search for Articles

  • Searches 8 of library's article databases that might have relevant results for health sciences. 
  • Limited to "Peer-Reviewed" and last 10 years.
  • You can enter new search words and continue to search these databases.

And an example article

Pitney, W. A., Mazerolle, S. M., & Pagnotta, K. D. (2011). Work-Family Conflict Among Athletic Trainers in the Secondary School Setting. Journal Of Athletic Training, 46(2), 185-193.

 

Popular and Scholarly Sources

Getting Started -- Subject Encyclopedias

  • Subject-specific encyclopedias will have background information on your topic. 
  • They usually recommend other sources, such as journal articles, books, and government reports. 
  • They often point to related concepts.

A Few Reference Articles -- Examples

A few examples of online encyclopedia articles.  An encyclopedia or review article can give you an overview of a topic and a rich list of references.

Videos for First Year Seminar classes

How Do We Know What We Know? What Sources Do We Use and Trust?

There's no magic way to the truth.  Science (and reality) is hard.

Questions -- Does this information agree with other sources?  What did researchers do to learn this?  (Do they explain their methods, at least.)

One shortcut -- Use "peer reviewed" or scholarly sources.  But not everything that survives this process is TRUE.  (See the first video below.)  Some databases let you select only academic or peer-reviewed articles.  Others, like Science Direct and Web of Science, are about 100% peer-reviewed.  You can usually tell an article is academic/peer reviewed by the author credentials at beginning and references at end.

Checklist methods:  (See the second video.)  How relevant to my topic?  How recent?  Who wrote and published it?  Do they have credentials?  Are they trying to sell me something?  Are there any other obvious sources of bias or lack of credibility?

"Track" citations!  Does your source refer to previous sources?  Look for those sources.  Also, since it was published, has anyone cited your source?  (Google Scholar is good for this, and Web of Science originated the "Cited by" function.)

 

Contact -- John Wiswell

John Wiswell  
Health Sciences Librarian
wiswellj@appstate.edu
Belk Library 225   262-7853
Available for consultations with students
 

Library Reference Chat

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
 

Distance Education Services

Distance Education students have access to the full array of Belk Library and Information Commons resources and services. 

Click here to learn more. Distance Learning Services

Belk Library and Information Commons

218 College Street • PO Box 32026 • Boone, NC 28608

Phone: 828.262.2186

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip