Skip to main content

Richard Petty Collection: Books

materials donated by Lynda and Richard Petty documenting Richard Petty's career

Richard Petty

Books and Related Material

Auto Racing Photo Greats. Studio City, CA: Auto Racing Photo Greats, 1970.Box 34.

Benyo, Richard, ed. The Book of Richard Petty. Alexandria, VA: Lopez Automotive, 1976. Box 34.

Bortstein, Larry. Great Racing Drivers: Mark Donohue, Al and bobby Unser, Richard Petty, Peter Revson. NY: Grosset & Dunlap, 1974. Pages 31-68 on Richard Petty. Box 34.

Britt, Rloys, and Bill France. The Racing Flag: NASCAR: The Story of Grand National Racing. NY: Pocket Books, 1965. Box 34.

Cavalcade of Auto Racing. Kingston, NY: Published by Speedway Advertising Agency for White & Bagley Co., 1965. Box 34.

Duck, Harvey. The Racing Pettys: Illustrated Life Story of America's Greatest Stock Car Racer, as Told by "The King" Richard Petty. Fort lauderdale, FL: STP Corporat8ion, 1980. Signed by Richard Petty on the cover. Oversized comic book format. Box 34.

Editors of Cars Magazine. Stock Cars '70. NY: Magnum-Royal Publications, 1970. Includes "How We build Stock Cars: Richard Petty Tells How the Petty Family Builds Plymouths," pages 23-28, and a profile of Richard Petty, pages 77-78. Box 34.

Elbers, James R. Daytona Beach Area Coloring Book. 1983. Personal inscription from "Jimbo" Ellberg thanking Richard Petty for allowing the use of the number 43 car. Box 34.

50 Years of Speed. Lantana, FL: American Media Operations, 1997. Box 34.

Gaillard, Frey, with Kyle Petty. 200 M.P.H.: A Sizzling Season in the Petty/NASCAR Dynasty. NY: St. Martins Press, 1993. Uncorrected proof. Box 34.

The Grand National Stars: A Collection of the Best and Brightest Stars to Strap on a Helmet Behind the Wheel of a Grand National Stock Car, Gathered from the Pages of Stock Car Racing Magazine. Alexandria, VA: Lopez Automotive Group, 1975. Box 34.

Higdon, Hal. Letter dated May 1, 1972 from Hal Higdon about an interview he did with Richard Petty that would be used in Higdon's book Finding the Groove. A copy of the text to be printed is included. Box 34. Folder 1.

Knechel, Samuel W. The Book of Winners, 1949 through 1994. 1995 Edition. Casselberry, FL: Eskay Books, 1995. Note from the author to Richard Petty written on the title page. Box 34.

Libby, Bill, with Richard Petty. "King Richard:" The Richard Petty Story. dust jacket only. Box 34. Folder 2.

McManigal, Rod. Marco Polo. The Ninetieth Grove Play, Presented July 28, 1995. San Francisco: The Bohemian Club, 1995. Note on cover, "to Richard from Todd Shoneway." Box 34.

Meet Richard Petty. Louisburg, NC: TGR Recordings, 1970. Booklet that accompanied a sound recording. Box 34.

Petty, Richard. Richard Petty's Official Guide to 50 Years of NASCAR. Atlanta, GA: Corporate Sports Marketing, 1998. Includes "Richard Petty: The King: NASCAR's Driving Legend Remains the Standard by Which Excellence Is Measured," pages 21037; "Petty Milestones," pages 38-39; and "Petty Family Tree," pages 130-135. Box 34.

Petty, Richard, as told to Bill Neely. Grand National: The Autobiography of Richard Petty. Chicago: Henry Regnery, 1971. Inside front cover and inside back covers are autographed by Richard Petty.. Box 35.

  • Fan letter about Grand National: The Autobiography of Richard Petty. Box 35. Folder 1.
  • Reviews of Grand National: The Autobiography of Richard Petty. Box 35. Folder 2.

Petty, Stephen C. The Pettey's of East Texas. The author, 1988. Note inside cover: "To: Richard Petty from: Stephen Petty 1997."

  • Letter from Steve Petty to Richard Petty. Box 35. Folder 3.

Richard Petty Coloring Book. Randleman, NC: Success Promotions, n.d. Box 35.

Sports Illustrated Presents: Winston Cup '99. Special Collector's Issue. Includes "Drivers of the Century," pages 18-25. Box 35.

Summers, Robert. Race Car Heart. The author, n. d. Box 35.

  • Letter from the author to Richard Petty. Box 35. Folder 4.

Twenty-Five Years of Racing: Richard Petty: A Pictorial Review 1958-1983.

Wilkinson, Sylvia. Dirt Tracks to Glory: The Early Days of Stock Car Racing as Told by the Participants. Chapel Hill, NC: Algonquin Books, 1983. Uncorrected proof. Box 35.

  • Letter dated September 24, 1983 to Richard Petty from Louis d. Rubin Jr., president of Algonquin Books, asking for a comment to use in promoting Dirt Tracks to Glory. Box 35. Folder 5.

Winston Cup/NASCAR. Charlotte, NC: UMI Publications, 1992. Pages 19-19 are a tribute to Richard Petty. Box 35,

Yates, Brock. The Great Drivers: Profiles of America's Fastest Heroes. Vol. 1. Nashville, TN: Produced by Diamond P. Sports fo the Nashville Netwrok Opryland USA. 1984. Includes chapters on Richard Petty and his father Lee Petty. Box 35.

Subject Guide

Suzanne Wise's picture
Suzanne Wise
Contact:
Belk Library and Information Commons
Appalachian State University
Boone, NC 28608-2026
tel: 828-262-2798

Curator of the Stock Car Racing Collection; Bibliographer for the departments of Communication, Computer Science, and Sustainable Technology and the Built Environment