Skip to main content

Stock Car Racing Guide: Background Information

Research guide for stock car racing topics.

Sources of Background Information

Sources of Background Information

Burt, William. Stock Car Race Fan's Reference Guide: Understanding NASCAR . Osceola, WI: MBI Publishing, 1999. Stock Car GV1029.9 .S74 B876 1999
Covers the technical aspects of assembling stock cars, the duties of each crew member, and activities in a typical race week. Very similar is the 1997 version, RaceFans Reference: Understanding Winston Cup Racing . Birmingham, AL: ALASTRA, 1995. GV1029.9 .S74 B87 1995

Edmondson, Chuck. Fast Car Physics. Baltimore: Johns Hopkins, 2011. TL243 E38 2011.
Excellent guide to the science and engineering ehind auto racing.

Fleischman, Bill, and Al Pearce. The Unauthorized NASCAR Fan Guide. Annual . Farmington Hills, MI: Visible Ink, 1999. Stock Car REF GV1029.9 .S74 F63 1999
Excellent guide to information on the history of the sport, drivers, race teams, what actually goes on the pits during a race, safety issues, sponsors, tracks, fans. Includes race results 1949-1998 and a guide to additional resources. If you can only own one NASCAR book, this is the one.

Freedman, Lew. Encyclopedia of Stock Car Racing. 2 vols. 2013. Also available in print, Stock Car REF GV1029.9 S74 F7319 2013.
Brief entries for people, places, and events in the sport. Also includes a chronology and a list of Cup champions and Hall of Fame inductees.

Huff, Richard. The Insider's Guide to Stock Car Racing. NASCAR Racing: America's Fastest-Growing Sport . Chicago: Bonus Books, 1997. Stock Car GV1029.9 .S74 H84 1997
A comprehensive look at the sport: cars and drivers, teams and tracks, sponsors and media. Also covers safety considerations.

Latford, Bob. Built for Speed: The Ultimate Guide to Stock Car Racetracks; A Behind-the-Wheel View of the Winston Cup Circuit . Philadelphia: Courage Books, 1999. Stock Car GV1019.9 .S74 L28 1999
Articles on 22 Winston Cup tracks. Includes North Wilkesboro Speedway.

Moriarty, Frank. The Encyclopedia of Stock Car Racing . NY: MetroBooks, 1998.
Stock Car REF GV1029.9 .S74 M67 1998
Short history of the sport followed by brief entries on drivers, tracks, and racing terms.

Subject Guide

Suzanne Wise's picture
Suzanne Wise
Contact:
Belk Library and Information Commons
Appalachian State University
Boone, NC 28608-2026
tel: 828-262-2798

Curator of the Stock Car Racing Collection; Bibliographer for the departments of Communication, Computer Science, and Sustainable Technology and the Built Environment