Skip to main content

Appalachian Studies: Research Tools

A research guide to scholarly resources on Appalachia.

Research Help

Developing a Thesis Statement

A thesis statement is a one sentence summary of the writer's argument, a main point to be supported by good reasons and evidence. The thesis statement is your answer to the central question or problem you raise in your paper.

Reading a Citation

A quick way to find more sources of information for a research paper or project is to use the bibliographies in the sources you already have, such as you textbook or your assigned readings.  When you know how to use bibliographies effectively, you develop and practice valuable research s

Creating an annotated bibliography

An annotated bibliography is an alphabetical list of research sources. In addition to bibliographic data, an annotated bibliography provides a concise summary of each source and assessment of its value or relevance.

All Video Tutorials

Citing & Writing Resources

Belk Library Citation Guidelines Page
Links to examples of MLA, APA, and Chicago Citation Styles

The Owl at Purdue
Offers information on the entire writing process from conducting research to citation styles and grammar.

Appalachian State University Writing Center
Free service that works with writers on a variety of projects: papers for academic courses; masters and senior thesis chapters; personal essays for job, graduate school, and law school applications.

Duke Libraries Guide to Research
Provides guidance during the research process and stresses the importance of properly citing resources to avoid plagiarism. 

RAP Sessions

RAP (Research Advisory Program

The Research Advisory Program (RAP). Provides students the opportunity to meet with a librarian for in-depth assistance.

RAP Session Request Form