Research Guides: Appalachian Studies: Overview

What's in this Guide

This guide includes resources on Appalachian Studies in the Special Collections Research Center, as well as recommendations for selected resources available through University Libraries, regional archives, or online. Topics include books, articles, newspapers, maps, research tools, genealogy and citation guidelines

Below are some resources to get you started with exploring Appalachian Studies.

Special Collections in the Western North Carolina Library Network

Websites for Appalachian Studies

Appalachian State University's Digital Collections
Appalachian Studies Association
Appalachian Studies Association promotes and engages dialogue, research, scholarship, education, creative expression, and action among a diverse and inclusive group of scholars, educators, practitioners, grassroots activists, students, individuals, groups and institutions.
Berea College - The Appalachian Center
Black in Appalachia
A non-profit that works to highlight the history and contributions of African-Americans in the development of the Mountain South and its culture.
Documenting the American South
A collection of primary sources on Southern history, literature and culture from the colonial period through the first decades of the 20th century.
East Tennessee State University - Archives of Appalachia
Museum of Appalachia
North Carolina ECHO, Exploring Cultural Heritage Online
The special collections of North Carolina's libraries, archives, and museums. Searchable by subject.
Southern Appalachian Digital Collections
A partnership with Western Carolina University and UNC-Asheville that centralizes access to unique regionally focused digitized materials that document the history and culture of Southern Appalachia.
University of Kentucky - Appalachian Center
West Virginia University - Appalachian Collection

Additional guides to explore

Appalachian History
by Greta Browning Last Updated Nov 4, 2024 323 views this year
Appalachian Studies
by Greta Browning Last Updated Sep 11, 2024 518 views this year
Bibliographies for Special Collections Materials
by Greta Browning Last Updated Sep 15, 2023 43 views this year
Instructions for Searching Special Collections Materials
by Greta Browning Last Updated Jul 29, 2024 49 views this year
Researching University History in the University Archives
by Greta Browning Last Updated Jul 29, 2024 255 views this year
Stock Car Racing Guide
by Suzanne Wise Last Updated Sep 15, 2023 684 views this year
Video Orientations for the Special Collections Research Center
by Greta Browning Last Updated Sep 15, 2023 54 views this year

University Libraries Research Guides

Appalachian Studies: Overview

Reference & Instruction Archivist

Outreach & Public Services Lecturer Librarian - Special Collections