Banner Image

Anthropology: Overview

A guide to scholarly resources for anthropological research.

Reference & Biographical Sources

Online Reference Materials

Encyclopedia of Anthropology
View of species within nature, evolution, and socioc ultural development.

21st Century Anthropology: A Reference Handbook

Dictionary of Anthropology
ASU E-BOOK 2000
Emphasis is placed on concepts and theories, rather than fixed definitions.

Country Studies
Online from the Library of Congress, the Country Study Series presents a description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, and political institutions of countries throughout the world.

Ethnic Groups Worldwide
ASU E-BOOK
Ready-reference handbook which provides a guide to ethnic groups in the contemporary world.

Anthropology Biography Web
Part of the Emuseum at Minnesota State University, includes brief encyclopedic entries on the lives of anthropologists and scientists in the discipline.

Print Reference Materials in Belk Library:

The Cambridge Encyclopedia of Human Evolution
ASU MAIN STACKS GN281.C345 1992
Encompasses the full range of subjects connected with human evolution, from archaeology to zoology and genetics to linguistics. 

Countries and their Cultures
ASU REF GN307.C68 2001
Four-volume set which includes a cultural summary of 225 countries.  The summaries provide a mx of demographic, historical, social, economic, and religious information.

Encyclopedia of Cultural Anthropology
ASU REF GN307.E52 1996
This 4-volume set includes 340 articles covering all "approaches, methods, concepts and topics" that are relevant to cultural anthropology.

Encyclopedia of World Cultures and Supplement 2002
ASU REF GN550.E53 1991
Ten volume set, arranged geographically.  Contains 1500 summaries of cultural groups and includes maps, glossaries, and indexes.

Ethnic Cultures of the World: a statistical reference
ASU MAIN STACKS GN495.4.P37 1997
Statistical profiles for over 400 ethnic groups are included.  "Allows for quantitative comparisons across ethnic groups which are present in multiple countries located in multiple continents."

Worldmark Encyclopedia of Cultures and Daily Life
ASU REF GN333.W67 1998
Four-volume set which includes over 500 culture groups from around the world.  "Focuses on traditions, living conditions, and personalities."   Emphasis is placed on how people live today.


Library Instruction Survey

Were your library instruction sessions helpful for your research? 

Please give us your comments and suggestions.

Library Instruction Feedback Survey

Citing Sources

AAA Citation Guide for Anthropology

From the American Anthropological Association.

More Library Services

 

Citing & Writing Resources

Belk Library Citation Guidelines Page
Links to examples of MLA, APA, and Chicago Citation Styles

The Owl at Purdue
Offers information on the entire writing process from conducting research to citation styles and grammar.

Appalachian State University Writing Center
Free service that works with writers on a variety of projects: papers for academic courses; masters and senior thesis chapters; personal essays for job, graduate school, and law school applications.

Duke Libraries Guide to Research
Provides guidance during the research process and stresses the importance of properly citing resources to avoid plagiarism.