Academic Search Complete
Here are some of the journals related to recreation and leisure that are indexed, with full text, in Academic Search Complete, with the beginning date of full text coverage:
CPA (Community Profile Analysis). Consumer and Business Demographic Reports. Watauga County, NC. 2009 edition. Ref HC 107 .N82 W35 2009
County Health Rankings.
http://www.countyhealthrankings.org/
A component of MATCH (Mobilizing Action Toward Community Health), a collaboration between the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation an the University of Wisconsin Population Health Institute. The County Health Rankings provide reports for each state, with snapshots for each county in the state. The snapshots provide data on specific health outcomes and health factors for the county, usually as a percentage of that outcome or factor's prevalence within the county popuation. Then, the snapshot provides the county's rank within the state on two health outcomes; four health factors; and the overall ranking within the state on overall health outcomes and overall health factors.
ERIC
This Web-based index to over 810 journals in education includes many articles related to recreation and leisure. It also provides access to other unpublished materials (such as manuals, handbooks, conference presentations, and descriptions of projects which received grant funding) which are available either full text from the E*Subscribe database or on microfiche in the Microforms Room on the bottom floor of Belk Library. Here are some sample terms used in the database:
For leisure & recreation
|
For evaluation
|
For target populations
|
FedStats
http:// www.fedstats.gov
This handy collection of statistics is grouped by state, then by county. On the left side of the page, under MapStats, select North Carolina (or another state, if applicable) and click on Submit. Then, select the county you want and click on Go. When you see the results page, notice on the right side, at the top of the chart, a link to "Browse more data sets for [name] County."
High Country Council of Governments
http://www.regiond.org
Provides links to demographics for Watauga, Ashe, Avery, Mitchell, Wilkes, and Yancey counties and for communities within each.
National Sporting Goods Association. Sports Participation in 2002: State-by-State . Ref GV 583 .S7 2002 [This report participation January-December 2002 for a variety of sports and activities. The data for each state (based on a survey) gives frequent, occasional, and infrequent participation, measured by number of days people participated in the activity. There are thirty-eight different activities listed, including backpacking/wilderness camping, fishing, hiking, hunting with firearms, soccer, boating (motor/power), canoeing, mountain biking, paintball, and working out at a club. Data is not broken down by age or gender.
North Carolina Institute of Government. Municipalities Page http:// ncinfo.iog.unc.edu/library/cities.html
This page is a useful alphabetical table of all North Carolina cities and towns which have a Web site. Besides the link to the town's Web sites, it provides (when available) a link to the Visitor's Bureau or Chamber of Commerce Web site, as well as a link to the county's Web site. Use these Web sites to gather more information about recreation in the community you plan to target; information about the community overall, or information about agencies or organizations that might collaborate with you on the grant project.
North Carolina Office of State Budget and Management. Population Estimates and Projections.
http://www.osbm.state.nc.us/ncosbm/facts_and_figures/socioeconomic_data/population_estimates.shtm
An excellent source for detailed, up-to-date data on North Carolina counties or municipalities, or on the state as a whole.
North Carolina State Center for Health Statistics. County level data.
Includes the County Health Databook; North Carolina Stastewide and County Trends in Key Health Indicators; Life expectancy: state and county estimates; and more.
SPORTDiscus
This international database lists books, theses, dissertations, journal and magazine articles, Web sites, and conference papers on subjects related to sports, exercise science, physical education, coaching, training, sport psychology, recreation, and sport law. The items listed were published from 1975 to the present. About 25% of the items are at the research/scholarly level.
State Data Center
http:// sdc.state.nc.us/
U. S. Census Bureau
http:// www.census.gov
The main page for census information. You can also get to census data from the FedStats and State Data Center links, above.