Skip to main content

Len Milde Collection: Overview

photocopies of 20 letters send to motorsports writer Len Milde between 1950 and 1969, including several from Mel Hansen

How to View Items in This Collection

Materials in the Len Milde Collection are housed in the Closed Collection of Special Collections. If you wish to view items in the Milde Collection, it is best to make an appointment by emailing or calling ahead (spcoll@appstate.edu, 828-262-7974). For hours and other information about using items in the Closed Collection, go to the Special Collections Research Services page.

Other Resources in the Stock Car Racing Collection that Include Letters

Len Milde Collection

Motorsports writer and photographer Leonard "Len" Milde (1916-1985) covered races throughout the Midwest and wrote a regular column, "It Seems to Me," for Illustrated Speedway News. The Ohio native was elected to the National Auto Racing Hall of Fame.

The photocopies of the twenty letters in the collection were donated by auto racer and historian Don Radbruch, who was a great friend of the Stock Car Racing Collection. Several of the letters are from race driver Mel Hansen (1898-1963), who competed in midget and Indycar races.

Box 1. Folder 1. Letters.

Len Milde (right) with Al Blixt

Len Milde, right, with Al Blixt in 1940. Photo copyright Al Blixt Collection, courtesy of Al Blixt, Jr.

Librarian

Suzanne Wise's picture
Suzanne Wise
Contact:
Belk Library and Information Commons
Appalachian State University
Boone, NC 28608-2026
tel: 828-262-2798

Curator of the Stock Car Racing Collection; Bibliographer for the departments of Communication, Computer Science, and Sustainable Technology and the Built Environment